Category: Books


Patriot by AS Bond

Patriot by AS Bond
Posted 14 July, 2015 by Free Book Promotions / 0 Comments

Patriot Penned as a mind-blowing thriller and suggested as recommended reading for fans of Clive Cussler, Tom Clancy or Robert Ludlum, Patriot certainly promises an engaging read. A modern-day thriller, it follows Brooke Kinley, a young reporter with a penchant for discovering the truth and tackles themes such as terrorism and espionage. Patriot was a finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards, 2015, was one of Shelf Unbound’s ‘notable books of 2014,’ and has a staggering 90 reviews on Amazon.com […]



You’re Not Alone R..

You’re Not Alone – Ian. D. Moore and friends
Posted 11 July, 2015 by Free Book Promotions / 0 Comments

You’re not alone You’re not alone is an anthology by a collection of independent authors affected by cancer. All proceeds from this book are going to ‘the Pamela Winton tribute fund, which is in aid of Macmillan Cancer Support.’   MEET THE AUTHORS All contributing authors were asked a single question – “Why have you given your time and work to this cause” Below, you will find a list of their individual answers and links to their books or websites, to […]



The Drowned Phoenician Sail..

The Drowned Phoenician Sailor by Lesley Hayes
Posted 10 July, 2015 by Free Book Promotions / 0 Comments

The Drowned Phoenician Sailor The Drowned Phoenician Sailor is written in the first person and from the very first line you are pulled into the story. Lesley Hayes words create imagery while moving the story forward. Beginning with the character being awoken by a rather persistent companion (and having been there myself I could relate to this) she goes about her daily routine, using inner thoughts and some beautifully descriptive writing to start the story off. The synopsis of The Drowned Phoenician […]



The One Who Had To by Kim M..

The One Who Had To by Kim Moyer
Posted 3 July, 2015 by Free Book Promotions / 0 Comments

  The One Who Had The One Who Had is the first of a series of novels about the character Amy Musil. Engaging with the reader from the very first paragraph, it’s character driven storytelling reels you in. The book begins with Amy coming around after a traumatic experience. She uses her inner thoughts, senses and discovery to remember some of the details, and I found myself turning the pages along with her. Careful revelation unfolds the story, and it has […]



Self-Editing on a Penny

Self-Editing on a Penny
Posted 22 June, 2015 by Free Book Promotions / 1 Comment

Self-Editing on a Penny Self-Editing on a Penny is written by an independent author for independent authors and covers a comprehensive range of topics – from simple grammar to the process of finding an editor. This book covers a range of techniques commonly used by editors, such as the removal of repetition, minimising the use of adverbs and overused words, as well as talking you through the basics of grammar that many of us may have forgotten over the years. Examples […]



Paradise Exhumed

Paradise Exhumed
Posted 21 June, 2015 by Free Book Promotions / 0 Comments

Paradise Exhumed commences in medias res. Written in the third person, the reader can’t help but be pulled into the story from the very first line. The character finds herself in a situation none of us to wish to be in. It’s chilling, to say the least, but if you like your thrillers packed with action and emotion, and if the first section is anything to go by, then this has the promise of being a great read. Chapter one changes […]



Black Eyed Boy by Laura Hun..

Black Eyed Boy by Laura Huntley
Posted 20 June, 2015 by Free Book Promotions / 0 Comments

Black eyed boy has a wonderful ‘voice’ and will certainly appeal to young adults. Told in the first person, there is a good balance between the narrative and dialogue. I’ve only read the first few pages, but it is made very clear that there is a lot of pressure on young Emily’s shoulders. Relationships seem fraught, and to quote the synopsis, she feels ‘like a ghost in her own home.’ The few pages I read of Black eyed boy were well […]



The Flavor of Cultures by W..

The Flavor of Cultures by Weam Namou
Posted 17 June, 2015 by Free Book Promotions / 0 Comments

First Impressions This very well written book offers an insight into life of a young woman born into a Middle Eastern culture, while living in an Americanised culture. Told in the first person, and written in an enagaging style, it explores the problems faced by Mervat as she meets a potential suitor. There are three five star reviews of this book on Amazon which you can read here










Demien by Kenneth Morvant

Demien by Kenneth Morvant
Posted 10 May, 2015 by Free Book Promotions / 0 Comments

My initial thoughts Demien is written in the third person, and begins slap bang in the medias res in the middle of a mid-air battle. Despite the fast-paced action, the writing style makes it easy to follow. There were no obvious errors in the section I read.